A Note from Benson’s Mom

Hello, everyone. Benson’s mom here, and I need to share this very sad day with you. Benson crossed the rainbow bridge this morning, after sharing her wonderful spirit with us for a little more than 12 1/2 years. Her dad and I were with her every step of the way, and shared pets and kisses and tears as she left us.

Thanks to her wonderful breeder, we got our first look at her when she was just 12 hours old. We watched her grow through Betty’s videos over the next 8 weeks, until we could finally bring her into our home – she had already taken over our hearts by then.

Benson, One Day Old
Here I Am, World!

I’ve had pets literally all my life, from Bootsie, who was waiting at the door when I came home as a newborn (and who was my constant playmate and protector), to the menagerie that filled the house when I worked as a vet tech. I can honestly say that of all the furbabies I’ve known and loved, Benson has been the best of them all.

Over the years she has travelled with us, been a fixture at the Farmer’s Market every summer, and when I lost my brother to cancer, she stayed by my side and gave me a warm, fuzzy shoulder to cry on. This past year, even as her mobility decreased, she still travelled with us up and down the coast as we visited family and participated in bike rides for cancer research. By the end of the year, we had started wondering if she would be able to make “the next” trip – and to our surprise, she came with us on every single one.

Benson developed spinal stenosis last year. The incredible medical and rehab team at Village Vet have helped us manage her care and keep her as mobile and pain-free as possible as it slowly progressed. And she has been not only a good fighter, but loved going to the vet and seeing everyone there. She always had a joyful spirit and desire to love life, even when her body wasn’t cooperating.

But we finally reached the tipping point, where the good moments were just that – moments in an increasingly tiring fight to simply keep moving. And so Benson finally made it clear to us that she was ready to move on.

I can’t say enough about the staff at Village Vet – Dr. Hopper, Dr. Roach, the amazing techs and rehab staff, and especially Dr. Love, who helped Benson find release – and shared our sadness with us as she left this world. All of you have given Benson the best of care throughout her entire life, and I can’t possibly express the depth my gratitude for that.

I have one last video to share from the best dog I’ve ever had, as well as just two more thoughts.

When we adopt a dog or cat, we know at the outset that, at some point, we will need to say goodbye and lay them to rest. So we make a promise to give them love and care, to provide the best world we possibly can, and … when the time comes … to give them comfort in their passing. This is the bargain we make, when we bring a pet into our hearts and our lives.

That moment of passing isn’t easy, and it’s important to take the time needed to grieve. Some cannot bear to take this kind of journey another time – and that is fine. Others need to open themselves to another pet, even though they know the bargain they are making is never any easier – and that is fine. Just grieve as you need to – you have lost a being who loved and was loved.

Benson. Baby-girl. Bee-bo. I’ll miss you.

Benson
June 19, 2011 – February 6, 2024

One thought on “A Note from Benson’s Mom

  1. My heart sank for you and Robin when I heard the news. No puppy was more loved. You were all so blessed to have each other. Big hug!

Leave a comment